Iowa Transportation Coordination Council

ITCC Beginnings

The State of Iowa has been a pioneer in transportation coordination since the 1970s. In 1976, the Iowa Legislature adopted the first-in-the-nation coordination law, with a compliance review process added to the legislation in 1984. At that time, an Ad Hoc Interagency Advisory Committee was formed to develop administrative rules for coordination. The Iowa Transportation Coordination Council (ITCC) was created in 1992 with original members including the Iowa Department of Transportation, the Iowa Department of Human Services, and the Iowa Department of Elder Affairs. In 2001, the ITCC membership was expanded. A United We Ride Action Plan for Iowa was created in 2005.

Chaired by Kristin Haar of the Iowa Department of Transportation's Office of Public Transit, the ITCC meets quarterly discussing such issues as mobility management, accessibility of transportation in Iowa, State Transit Assistance Special Project Proposal applications pertaining to coordination, and the encouragement of state and local agencies’ involvement in the passenger transportation planning process.

Having grown considerably from the three original member state departments, the ITCC now boasts membership from statewide organizations, state departments, and federal groups.

Our Mission

To provide statewide leadership on transportation coordination to improve the mobility of Iowans.


Have Questions?

For more information, please contact Kristin Haar by e-mail, or by telephone at (515) 233-7875.

Committee Members

  • Scott Anderson, Access2Care
  • Loren Bawn, Iowa Department of Human Service, Bureau of Refugee Services
  • Heather Byron, American Cancer Society
    Alternate: Theresa Alleny
  • Doreen Chamberlin, Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Oral and Health Delivery Systems
  • Max Christensen, Iowa Department of Education
  • Jennifer Kammeyer, United Ways of Iowa
  • Connie Eastman, AARP Iowa
  • Kristin Haar, Chair, Iowa Department of Transportation, Office of Public Transit
  • Becky Harker, Iowa Governor’s Developmental Disabilities Council
  • Hugh Lively, Regional Transit Authority/RIDES, Iowa Public Transit Association
  • David Mitchell, Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services
  • Dylan Mullenix, Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization Alternate: Zach Young
  • Erin Mullenix, Iowa League of Cities
  • Jamie Nagel, Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service
  • Jeremy Johnson-Miller, Statewide Mobility Manager
  • Cindy Terwilliger, Federal Transit Administration
  • Joe Drahos, Iowa Department of Transportation, Office of Systems Planning
    Alternate: Garrett Pedersen
  • Tim Weltzin, Iowa Department of Human Services, Iowa Medicaid Enterprise
  • Heidi Wicks, Iowa Workforce Development
  • Ruth Thompson, Iowa Department on Aging