Access Permits

Permits Resources

Information on how to read DOT Roadway Plans with links to the following Powerpoint files:

DOT as-built project plans may be acquired by contacting Desi Asklof at (515) 239-1808 or at Desi.Asklof@iowadot.us

Utility Accommodation Permits

  • Form 810025 - Utility Accommodation Permit **
  • Form 810051 - Freeway Longitudinal Utility Accommodation Permit

Other permits

  • Form 810028 - Application to Perform Work Within State Highway Right-of-Way **

** These permit forms are available to download directly from DOT forms website.

All forms are also available from the appropriate engineering operations technician (EOT) listed below.

Contact Us

District Contacts
  • Contacts by district and county
  • Engineering Operations Technicians Area of Responsibility maps for permits

Policy manuals

Iowa Primary Highway Access Management Policy

Download Iowa Primary Access Management Policy

Policy For Accommodating and Adjustment of Utilities On the Primary Road System

Download Policy for Accommodating and Adjustment of Utilities on the Primary Road System

District 1 Contacts

Boone, Greene, Hamilton, Webster, Story, Grundy, Hardin
Kevin Schlesky
Office phone: 515-663-6363 or 800-251-2708
Cell phone: 515-460-1187
Email: kevin.schlesky@iowadot.us
Fax: 515-817-6643
Address: 57073 E. U.S. 30, Ames, IA  50010
Jeff Cunningham
Office phone: 515-986-5461 or 800-251-2702
Cell phone: 515-290-9028
Email: jeffrey.cunningham@iowadot.us
Fax: 515-986-5735
Address: 2300 S.E. 17th St., Grimes, IA  50111
Jasper, Poweshiek, Marshall, Tama
Deanna Smyth-Peters
Office phone: 515-986-5460 or 800-251-2702
Email: deanna.smyth-peters@iowadot.us
Address: 2300 S.E. 17th St., Grimes, IA  50111

District 1 contact area of responsibility map for permits


Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Howard, Winneshiek
Jess Ellingson
Office phone: 641-394-3161
Cell phone: 563-380-0106
Address: 2224 225th Street, New Hampton, IA 50659
Butler, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, Worth, Wright
Daryl Erickson
Office phone: 641-422-9476
Cell phone: 641-430-1846
Fax: 641-422-9453
Address: 428 43rd St. SW, Mason City, IA 50401

District 2 contact area of responsibility map for permits


Plymouth, Cherokee, Woodbury, Ida, Monona
Kelly Mulvihill
Office phone: 712-202-0821 or 800-579-2711
Cell phone: 712-539-1268
Fax: 712-239-1368
Address: 4611 U.S. 75 N., Sioux City, IA 51108
Lyon, Osceola, Dickinson, Emmet, Sioux, O'Brien, Clay, Palo Alto
Brent Klaahsen
Office phone: 712-472-2315 or 800-373-7347
Cell phone: 712-539-1285
Fax: 712-472-2310
Address: 1204 N. Second Ave. E. - P.O. Box 430, Rock Rapids, IA 51246
Buena Vista, Pocahontas, Sac, Calhoun, Crawford, Carroll
Wayne Brensel
Office phone: 712-263-8488 or 800-683-8900
Cell phone: 712-263-5629
Address: U.S. 30 W. - P.O. Box 70, Denison, IA 51442

District 3 contact area of responsibility map for permits


Harrison, Shelby, Pottawattamie, Mills, Montgomery, Fremont, Page
Richard Moraine
Office phone: 712-323-6125
Cell phone: 712-310-8002
Fax: 712-323-6195
Address: 300 W. Broadway, Suite 401, Council Bluffs, IA 51503
Audubon, Guthrie, Dallas, Cass, Adair, Madison, Adams, Union, Taylor, Ringgold
Eric Keiner
Office phone: 641-782-4310
Cell phone: 712-250-0282
Fax: 641-782-6618
Address: 701 E. Taylor, Creston, IA 50801

District 4 contact area of responsibility map for permits


Warren, Marion, Clarke, Lucas, Monroe, Decatur, Wayne, Appanoose
Dale O’Brien
Office phone: 641-774-2420 or 800-283-9731
Cell phone: 641-344-0055
Fax: 515-817-6700
Address: U.S. 34 W. - P.O. Box 733, Chariton, IA 50049
Mahaska, Keokuk, Washington, Wapello, Jefferson, Davis, Van Buren
Brenda Sanders
Office phone: 641-683-3331 or 800-224-6018
Cell phone: 641-777-1758
Fax: 515-817-6699
Address: 2930 N. Court Ave., Ottumwa, IA 52501
Muscatine, Louisa, Henry, Des Moines, Lee
Nora Lind
Office phone: 641-472-6142 or 800-224-6019
Cell phone: 641-919-2238
Fax: 641-472-6143
Address: P.O. Box 280, Fairfield, IA 52556

District 5 contact area of responsibility map for permits


Benton, Iowa, Johnson and Linn
Joel Keim
Office phone: 319-730-1533 or 800-262-5144
Cell phone: 319-310-2793
Fax: 319-730-1564
Address: 5455 Kirkwood Blvd. S.W., Cedar Rapids, IA 52404-5217
Cedar, Clinton, Jackson and Scott
Sheila Lee
Office phone: 563-391-4643 or 800-262-5143
Cell phone: 563-349-5016
Fax: 563-388-9266
Address: 8723 Northwest Blvd. - P.O. Box 2646, Davenport, IA 52809-2646
Buchanan, Delaware, Dubuque and Jones
Steven Lueck
Office phone: 563-875-2375 or 800-262-5142
Cell phone: 563-920-1797
Fax: 563-875-2388
Address: 14117 Iowa 136 N. - P.O. Box 325, Dyersville, IA 52040-0325

District 6 contact area of responsibility map for permits