Transit agencies

Agency Profile
Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments/Regional Transit Commission
Contact: Brian Schoon
Address: 229 E. Park Avenue Waterloo, IA 50703
Telephone: 319-235-0311
Fax: 319-235-2891
Web Site:
Routes & Schedule Number: 319-233-5213
Service Type: Demand-Response, Subscription
Service Area: Counties: Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, Grundy

Organizational Structure: The RTC is governed by the Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments (INRCOG) on recommendations from a 17-member advisory committee. The Regional Transit Commission is comprised of two members appointed from each county; two members appointed by INRCOG; and one member each appointed by the cities of Independence, New Hampton, and Waverly.
Special Features/Highlights: RTC provides open to the public, accessible transit services within the INRCOG region. Our primary customers are individuals with disabilities, senior citizens and head start children. In addition to the service we provide directly, a number of sub-providers offer contracted open to the public transit service to regional residents on our behalf. Those subcontractors include: Chickasaw County Council on Aging, Comprehensive Systems Inc., Country View, Exceptional Persons Inc., and Hawkeye Valley Area Agency on Aging.
Days/Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday. RTC Office hours (information/reservations) 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. RTC service hours vary depending on the location, but general availability is 6:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Please contact sub-providers directly for service information.
Fares Structure: Vary by County

Agency characteristics

Number of Vehicles: 40
Number of Vehicles with Lifts or Ramps: 31
Number of Vehicles to ADA Standards: 31
Full-Time Employees: 34
Part-Time Employees: 14
Volunteers: 20

Back Icon Back to Agencies