You need to upgrade your Flash Player
Download the most recent Flash plugin here.

Contact us


Craig Markley

Craig Markley
Office Director
Forecasting and Modeling Team
Grant Programs Team
Planning Team
Phone: 515-239-1027
E-mail: craig.markley@dot.iowa.gov
At a glance
Markley started employment with the Iowa DOT in May of 1983 as a summer traffic counter. He continued working summers while attending Buena Vista University to obtain a banking and finance degree. Following graduation, Markley was hired full-time in the Office of Systems Planning where he has worked on the following:
  • Computer-aided drafting and design
  • Urban and rural traffic forecasting
  • Metropolitan travel demand forecasting models
  • Long-range transportation plan
  • Intermodal and congestion management systems
  • Intermodal Feasibility Study
  • Grant programs
  • Mississippi River Parkway Commission

Peggy Riecken

Peggy Riecken
Secretary
Administration Support
Phone: 515-239-1664
E-mail: peggy.riecken@dot.iowa.gov

Mark Hansen

Mark Hansen
Team Leader
Phone: 515-239-1990
E-mail: mark.hansen@dot.iowa.gov

Vesper Brace

Vesper Brace
Traffic Analyst
Traffic sample processing
Phone: 515-239-1246
E-mail: vesper.brace@dot.iowa.gov

Ron Bunting

Ron Bunting
Traffic Processing/Analyst Coordinator
Short term traffic statistics
Phone: 515-239-1323
E-mail: ronald.bunting@dot.iowa.gov

Amelia Carman

Amelia Carman
Traffic Analyst
Traffic sample processing
Phone: 515-239-1073
E-mail: amelia.carman@dot.iowa.gov

Jeff Dybvik

Jeff Dybvik
Traffic Analyst
Traffic collection
Traffic data scheduling
Phone: 515-239-1046
E-mail: jeffrey.dybvik@dot.iowa.gov

Mark Funnell

Mark Funnell
Video log van survey
Bicycle/pedestrian trail monitoring
Phone: 515-239-1717
E-mail: mark.funnell@dot.iowa.gov

Jeff Huston

Jeff Huston
Traffic Analyst
Phone: 515-239-1504
E-mail: jeff.huston@dot.iowa.gov

Lori Judge

Lori Judge
Cartography Planner
Cartographic production and maintenance
Phone: 515-239-1645
E-mail: lori.judge@dot.iowa.gov

Randy Patterson

Randy Patterson
Cartography State Map Coordinator
Special request maps
State Transportation Map
Phone: 515-239-1007
E-mail: randy.patterson@dot.iowa.gov

Nick Paul

Nick Paul
Traffic Analyst
Traffic sample processing
Phone: 515-239-1142
E-mail: nick.paul@dot.iowa.gov

Tawnya Sullivan

Tawnya Sullivan
Traffic Processing Analyst - unit leader
Traffic sample processing
Phone: 515-239-1356
E-mail: tawnya.sullivan@dot.iowa.gov

Tony Volz

Tony Volz
Cartography Planner
City maps
County maps
Specialty maps
Statewide maps
Phone: 515-233-7826
E-mail: anthony.volz@dot.iowa.gov

Jay Williams

Jay Williams
Traffic Analyst
Traffic sample processing
Phone: 515-239-1122
E-mail: jay.williams@dot.iowa.gov

Debra Arp

Debra Arp
Team Leader
Grant Programs Administration
ICAAP
Transportation Enhancements
RISE
Federal and State Recreational Trails
Scenic Byways
Safe Routes to School
Urban Youth Corps
Phone: 515-239-1681
E-mail: debra.arp@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Arp joined the Grant Programs Administration section in 2009 as a Transportation Enhancement project manager. She received a Bachelor of Science degree in Community and Regional Planning from Iowa State University and a Master of Arts degree in Urban and Regional Planning from the University of Iowa. Prior to her employment with the Iowa DOT, Arp was employed as a city planner with the City of Fort Dodge.

Kevin Anderson

no photo at this time.
Grant Programs Team
Construction Monitoring
Phone: 515-239-1861
E-mail: kevin.anderson@dot.iowa.gov

Jim Nervig

no photo at this time.
Grant Programs Team
ICAAP Program Funds
Federal Funding Analysis
Phone: 515-239-1621
E-mail: jim.nervig@dot.iowa.gov

Deb Coles

Deb Coles
Financial Management
Grant Programs Team
Phone: 515-239-1055
E-mail: deb.coles@dot.iowa.gov

Yvonne Diller

Yvonne Diller
Program Manager for Federal and State Recreational Trails
Grant Programs Team
Phone: 515-239-1252
E-mail: yvonne.diller@dot.iowa.gov
At a glance
Diller has been with the Iowa DOT since 1975. She is a graduate of Iowa State University in business administration.

Ed Engle

no photo at this time.
Grant Program Team
Engineering Specialist
E-mail: edward.engle@dot.iowa.gov

Kurt Harvey

no photo at this time.
Grant Programs Team
Project Plan Review
Grant Program Support
Phone: 515-239-1793
E-mail: kurt.harvey@dot.iowa.gov

Jennifer Kolacia

Jennifer Kolacia
Program Manager
Grant Program Team
Revitalize Iowa's Sound Economy (RISE) Program
Phone: 515-239-1738
E-mail: jennifer.kolacia@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Kolacia started her career with the Iowa DOT in December of 2009. She is a graduate of the University of Iowa with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Management and Art History. Prior to her employment at the Iowa DOT, she worked for the Arizona Department of Transportation in the Traffic and Traffic Safety division.

Jodi Rhoads

Jodi Rhoads
Administrative Assistant
Grant Programs Team
Grant Programs Administration
Phone: 515-239-1669
E-mail: jodi.rhoads@dot.iowa.gov

Mary Stahlhut

no photo at this time.
Grant Programs Team
Scenic Byways Program
Federal Funding Analysis
Phone: 515-239-1369
E-mail: mary.stahlhut@dot.iowa.gov

Pamella Lee

no photo at this time.
Grant Programs Team
Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) Manager
Phone: 515-239-1810
E-mail: pamella.lee@dot.iowa.gov

Phil Mescher

Phil Mescher
Team Leader
Forecasting and Modeling Team
Phone: 515-239-1629
E-mail: phil.mescher@dot.iowa.gov
At a glance
Mescher began his career with the Iowa DOT in August 1997 in the Office of Systems Planning. Mescher is a graduate of Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in community and regional planning and a master's of Science degree in Transportation Planning. He has worked primarily on the traffic forecasting and modeling team.

Some of Mescher's responsibilities include:
  • Urban travel demand modeling.
  • Geographic information systems.
  • Traffic simulation modeling.
  • Traffic estimation and forecasting.
  • Interchange justification studies.
  • Airport pavement condition analyses.
  • Research project manager.
  • Federal Functional Classification System.
  • Farm-to-Market System.

Brian Carlson

Brian Carlson
Phone: 515-239-1526
E-mail: brian.carlson@dot.iowa.gov

Darla James

Darla James
Forecasting and Modeling Team
Asset Management
Traffic Forecasting
Phone: 515-239-1023
E-mail: darla.james@dot.iowa.gov

Steve LaBedz

Steven Labedz
Forecasting and Modeling
Modeling/GIS MPO Support
Phone: 515-239-1337
E-mail: Steven.LaBedz@iowa.dot.gov

At a glance
LaBedz began working at the DOT in October 2012. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Science from Carroll University in Waukesha, WI. He also holds a Master of Community and Regional Planning and a Graduate Certificate in GIS from Iowa State University. He has worked on the statewide travel demand model as well as various MPO models. He has assisted with rural traffic forecasts and other GIS related projects as well.

Jay Larson

Jay Larson
Forecasting and Modeling Team
Highway planning
System Classification
Phone: 515-239-1632
E-mail: jay.larson@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Larson started employment with Iowa DOT in March 1978 in the Office of Transportation Data. He worked with the Traffic Count Program and the Truck Weight Studies until he transferred to the Office of Systems Planning in August 1987. Larson is presently responsible for coordinating and maintaining the federal functional classification system program and the farm-to-market classification system.

  • Farm-to-Market System.
  • Federal Functional Classification.

Dwight Peters

Dwight Peters
Phone: 515-239-1197
E-mail: dwight.peters@dot.iowa.gov

Adam Shell

Adam Shell
Forecasting and Modeling Team
Modeling Coordinator
Highway Analysis
Phone: 515-239-1221
E-mail: adam.shell@dot.iowa.gov

Andrew Short

Andrew Short
Phone: 515-239-1236
E-mail: andrew.short@dot.iowa.gov

Eric Wilke

Eric Wilke
Forecasting and Modeling
Modeling/GIS MPO Support
Phone: 515-239-1615
E-mail: Eric.Wilke@iowa.dot.gov

Jeff von Brown

Jeff von Brown
Modeling
Rural Forecasting Coordinator
Phone: 515-239-1554
E-mail: Jeff.VonBrown@iowa.dot.gov

At a glance
Jeff began working in the Office of Systems Planning in May of 2012. Jeff is a graduate from Iowa State University in 2011 with a master's degree in transportation and a GIS Certificate, as well as a bachelor's degree in transportation and logistics from 2004. He is currently working on rural traffic forecasting and modeling analyses.

Garrett Pedersen

Cindy Shearer
Team Leader
Planning Team
Phone: 515-239-1520
E-mail: garrett.pedersen@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Pedersen began his career with the Iowa DOT in October of 2006. He is a 2003 graduate of Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Community and Regional Planning with emphasis in Transportation and Land Use. Prior to his employment with the Iowa DOT, Pedersen was employed as a Transportation Planner by the Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments in Waterloo.

Kyle Barichello

Kyle Barichello
Freight/Rail Planning
Planning Team
Phone: 515-239-7767
E-mail: kyle.barichello@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Barichello began his career with the Iowa DOT in April 2013. He is a 2012 graduate of Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Community and Regional Planning and Environmental Studies. In the fall of 2012, Kyle completed the GIS certificate program at Iowa State University.

His current responsibilities include assisting with freight planning activities such as the collection of freight data and the development of the state freight plan. Other duties include rail data collection and mapping and assisting in the development of the rail system plan.

Sam Hiscocks

Sam Hiscocks
Freight Coordinator
Planning Team
Phone: 515-239-1004
E-mail: samuel.hiscocks@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Hiscocks began his career with the Iowa DOT in September of 2012. He is a 2012 graduate of Iowa State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Community and Regional Planning and Environmental Studies. Prior to being on the Planning Team in July 2013, Hiscocks served on the Cartography Team in the Office of Systems Planning.

His current responsibilities include coordinating freight planning activities such as the collection of freight data, development of the state freight plan, and working with the Freight Advisory Council. He is also responsible for coordinating all waterway planning activities.

Milly Ortiz

Milly Ortiz
Bicycle/Pedestrian Coordinator
Planning Team
Phone: 515-233-7733
E-mail: milly.ortiz@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Ortiz began her career with the Iowa DOT in February 2003. Ortiz received a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of Puerto Rico, a master's degree in marketing from the InterAmerican University of Puerto Rico, and a master's degree in community and regional planning with emphasis in transportation planning from Iowa State University.

Her current responsibilities include state long range planning, coordinating the development of the state bicycle and pedestrian plan and the transportation map for bicyclists, and managing the State Planning and Research (SPR) program.

Jennifer Roberts

Jennifer Roberts
Passenger Planning
Planning Team
Phone: 515-239-1686
E-mail: jennifer.roberts@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Roberts began her career with the Iowa DOT in January of 2014. She has a bachelorís degree in Anthropology from the University of Iowa and masterís degree in Community and Regional Planning from Iowa State University. Prior to working with the Iowa DOT, Roberts worked as a transportation mobility manager for Polk County, Iowa.

Her current responsibilities include coordinating passenger transportation planning activities such as the review of metropolitan and regional Passenger Transportation Plans, activities related to the Iowa Park and Ride System Plan, and sitting on the Iowa Transportation Coordination Council.

Cindy Shearer

Cindy Shearer
RPA/MPO Planning Support
Planning Team
Phone: 515-239-1643
E-mail: cindy.shearer@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
Shearer began her career with the Iowa DOT in February 1981. Before coming to the Office of Systems Planning in September 1995 she had been in the Office of Transportation Data and the Office of Driver Services. Shearer is on the RPA/MPO Planning Support team in the Planning area.

Andrea White

Andrea White
Statewide Planning Coordinator
Planning Team
Phone: 515-239-1210
E-mail: andrea.white@dot.iowa.gov

At a glance
White began her career with the Iowa DOT in April 2014. She is a graduate of the University of Northern Iowa with a bachelorís degree in Geography with a GIS emphasis. Prior to joining the Iowa DOT, White was employed as the Director of Transportation at the Iowa Northland Regional Council of Governments in Waterloo.

Her current responsibilities include coordinating with Iowaís Metropolitan Planning Organizations and Regional Planning Affiliations, as well as with the Iowa DOTís District Planners. White also works on the stateís long range planning efforts.