2008 Legislative Session


PDF icon Subject Listing PDF icon Administrative Rules
PDF icon Index by Code Section Web page icon Appropriations
PDF icon Reports Required PDF icon Veto/Item Veto
Web page icon Transportation Policy Legislation    

The 2008 legislature adjourned April 26 and sent 96 House and 97 Senate files to the Governor. The Iowa General Assembly Web site includes a complete list of all Enrolled bills and action taken on those bills, as well as a list of Code sections amended.

Each year the Office of Policy and Legislative Services reviews all new legislation and compiles transportation- and government-related bills into one publication. The publication, 2008 Iowa Acts for the DOT, includes 62 of the House and Senate files passed by the General Assembly during the 2008 regular session. 

Click on any of the following subjects to connect to the topic. 

The Numerical Listing identifies the pertinent bills included in the publication.

The Subject Listing shows the bills by category and bill number. The five subject listing categories are: Appropriations; Highway; Motor Vehicle; Air, Rail, Transit and Water; and Government and Administration. 

The Index by Code Section identifies certain Code sections amended, the bill number, and a short explanation of the Code section change of the bill. 

The Veto/Item Veto page identifies bills of interest that were vetoed or item vetoed by Governor Culver.

The Reports/Studies Required page lists those reports/studies that affect the DOT.

The Administrative Rules page identifies rules that the DOT may need to adopt or amend as a result of new legislation.

For details on legislation that includes DOT initiatives, see SF 2394 (DOT Appropriations), HF 2651 (Transportation Changes), HF 2213 (DOT Technical) and SF 2156 (Commercial Driver Licenses). For details on two other pieces of critical legislation, see SF 2432 (Infrastructure Appropriations) and SF 2420 (TIME-21 Revenues). 

For more information about the publication, contact Tracy George at 515-239-1358. If you have questions concerning legislation, contact Elizabeth Baird at 515-239-1641.