How to request records
- Records may be researched by vehicle identification number, name, title number and license plate number*.
- Request may only be accepted in writing, by fax or in person.
- Payment required prior to release of information.
The Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, Pub. No. 106-69, }350(b) or 18 U.S.C. 2721, and Iowa Code 321.11 prohibits the disclosure of personal information about any individual from a motor vehicle record to the public without written consent of the person to whom the information pertains.
*Personal information of motor vehicle records may be released under provisions as outlined under the Federal Driver's Privacy Protection Act and Iowa Code 321.11.
Office of Vehicle Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9278
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9278
|Searches||$5/15 minutes or a fraction thereof|
|Computer copies||$1/printed record|
|Certified copies||$0.50/printed record|
|Escrow accounts||Escrow accounts may be established.|
|No fees applied if records not found.|