MVD banner

Announcement

Change in driverís license renewal periods

Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, and continuing through Dec. 31, 2018, Iowa will transition from a standard five-year license term to an eight-year license term. During this time, Iowa driver's licenses will be issued with a randomly assigned expiration date between five and eight years. Learn more.

Iowa driver's license types and fees

  • There is a $10 fee for a duplicate license (e.g., change of address, name change, lost or stolen).
  • Licenses issued to persons under the age of 18 or persons who are temporary foreign nationals will be issued driver's licenses with shorter renewal periods set by Iowa law.
  • All nonoperator's ID cards will be valid for eight years with a cost of $8.
  • There is no charge to replace a defective license.
  • There are additional fees for commercial endorsements.
  • License issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.
License class Minimum age Expiration date Tests required Cost
O (identification only) No
minimum age
Eight years None $8
A (commercial) 18 Two years/
Five to eight years
See CDL Manual $8 per year *
B (commercial) 18 Two years/
Five to eight years
See CDL Manual $8 per year *
C (commercial) 18 Two years/
Five to eight years
See CDL Manual $8 per year *
C (noncommercial - operator) 16 Two years/
Five to eight years
Knowledge, vision, driving $4 per year *
D (noncommercial - chauffeur) 18 Two years/
Five to eight years
See CDL Manual $8 per year *
L (motorcycle license -added to existing license) 16 Same as current license Knowledge, vision, driving
See Iowa Motorcycle Operator Manual
$2 per year
M (motorcycle license only - new issuance) 16 Two years/
Five to eight years
Knowledge, vision, driving $6 per year *
Restriction 1 (motorcycle instruction permit)
Must be added to an existing license
14 Same as current license Knowledge, vision $2 per year
C - restriction 1 (motorcycle permit only - new issuance) 14 Four years Knowledge, vision $14
C - restriction 2 (instruction permit) 14 Four years Knowledge, vision
See Iowa Driver's Manual
$6
Restriction 3 (commercial instruction permit)
Must be added to an existing license
18 Six months Knowledge, vision $12
C - restriction 4 (chauffeur's instruction permit) 18 Four years Knowledge, vision $12
C - restriction 5 (motorized bicycle license - moped) 14 Two years Knowledge, vision $8
C - restriction 6 (minor's restricted license) 16 Two years Knowledge, vision, driving $8
C - restriction 7 (minor's school license) 14 Two years Knowledge, vision, driving $8
Upgrade from operator license to chauffer or commercial license 18 Prorate
duplicate license
Knowledge, vision, driving $4 per year


The following endorsements are used exclusively in conjunction with a commercial driver's license.

Double/Triple trailers $5
Passenger $10
Tank vehicles $5
Hazardous materials* $5*
School bus $10
Remove air brake restriction $10
*The hazardous material endorsement fee must be paid every time a CDL is renewed. The hazardous material knowledge examination is also required.