Obtaining a copy of an Iowa driving record,
traffic ticket or other document
Iowa driving recordObtain a certified copy of your own driving record on our myMVD website. A certified driving record is your official driving record certified by the Iowa DOT and can be used for official or legal purposes. The fee is $5.50 plus a $1.50 service charge.
If you simply want to view your Iowa driving history or print a noncertified copy, you can do that for free through the myMVD website.
Traffic tickets, previous license applications or other documentsTo obtain a copy of traffic ticket(s), previously issued driver's license applications showing license history in Iowa or any other document, the cost is 50 cents per copy.
Suspension for failure to pay a ticket - A suspension for failure to pay a ticket can be ended only when the Iowa DOT's Office of Driver Services has received proof that the fine has been paid. The suspension will be shown on your driving record unless the proof from the court is received before the suspension starts. If you need more information about the fine, please contact the clerk of court in the county listed on the suspension letter.
You will need to complete the Privacy Act Agreement For Request of Motor Vehicle Records form. If you are requesting this information for yourself, you only need to complete Section A and Section D. Send the completed form, a copy of your driver's license or nondriver identification card, a check for the appropriate amount made payable to "Treasurer, State of Iowa" and mail your request to the address below.
Mail your request to:
Office of Driver Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204