MVD banner

Fees and license types

Note

Change in driverís license renewal periods

Beginning Jan. 1, 2014, and continuing through Dec. 31, 2018, Iowa will transition from a standard five-year license term to an eight-year license term. During this time, Iowa driver's licenses will be issued with a randomly assigned expiration date between five and eight years. Learn more.
  • There is a $10 fee for a replacement license or nonoperator ID card (e.g., change of address, name change, lost or stolen).
  • Licenses issued to persons under the age of 18 or persons who are temporary foreign nationals will be issued driver's licenses with shorter renewal periods set by Iowa law.
  • All nonoperator's ID cards will be valid for eight years with a cost of $8.
  • There is no charge to replace a defective license.
  • There are additional fees for commercial endorsements.
  • License issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.

Noncommercial driver license

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Class C – Operator $4/year 16 5-8 years*
Class D – Chauffer $8/year 18 5-8 years*
Class C – Instruction Permit $6 14 4 years
Class D – Chauffer Instruction Permit $12 18 4 years
Class C – Minor’s School License $8 14 1/2 2 years
Class C – Minor’s Restricted License $8 16 2 years
Upgrade from operator license to chauffer or commercial license $4/year (existing license will be prorated) 18 Based on existing license
*Licenses issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.

Motorcycle/Moped licenses

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Motorcycle endorsement (added to an existing license) $2/year 16 Same expiration as existing license
Class M - Motorcycle license only $6/year 16 5-8 years*
Motorcycle instruction permit   $2/year when adding to an existing license, or $14 if you are obtaining a motorcycle instruction permit only and do not have another type of license 14 Same expiration as existing license when adding to an existing license, or 4 years if you are obtaining a motorcycle instruction permit only and do not have another type of license
Motorcycle permit only $14 14 4 years
Moped (motorized bicycle) license only $8 14 2 years
*Licenses issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.

Commercial driver's license (CDL)

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Class A commercial $8/year 18** 5-8 years*
Class B commercial $8/year 18** 5-8 years*
Class C commercial $8/year 18** 5-8 years*
Commercial instruction permit (must be added to an existing license)
$12 18** 6 months
*Licenses issued to persons 72 and over will be valid for two years.
**Must be 21 years old to operate a commercial motor vehicle in interstate travel

Endorsements

The following endorsements are used exclusively in conjunction with a commercial driver’s license (CDL)
License type Cost
Double/triple trailers $5
Passenger $10
Tank vehicles $5
Hazardous materials
$5
School bus $10
Remove air brake restriction
$10

Note:  Drivers who haul hazardous materials in a tank vehicle must have an X endorsement on their CDL and pass pass the CDL Tanker and the Hazardous Materials knowledge examinations and complete the federally required fingerprint-based threat assessment.

Identification card only (ID)

License type Cost Minimum age Duration of license
Identification card only (Class O) $8/year No minimum age requirement 8 years