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7. Other Types  
of Vehicles

Cars are not the only means of transportation on the road. 
It is very likely you will operate some other type of vehicle dur-
ing your life. It could be a bicycle, motorcycle, truck or bus.

Even though you may never use any other kind of vehicle, 
you still should know about them. They affect you as a driver 
and as a pedestrian.

Learn the “rules of the road” for each kind of vehicle and 
something about their operation. This puts you in a better 
position to anticipate their movements when you approach 
them on the highway. This will help you become a better and 
safer driver.

Snowmobiles and 
All-Terrain Vehicles

Snowmobiles and all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) can be a lot of 
fun and useful too, but they can also be extremely dangerous 
if not ridden carefully and not driven in the proper places.

The rules and regulations vary somewhat for the two 
vehicles, so be sure you are familiar with the proper laws.

Snowmobiles
You cannot drive your snowmobile on the interstate or 

any other freeway, on the right-of-way of any interstate or 
freeway, or on a public highway, shoulder, or within five feet 
of the roadway except when crossing a bridge or culvert or 
to avoid an obstruction. However, you can ride a snowmobile 
in the following places:
	 •	 on city streets that have not been plowed during the 

snow season, or any street the city has designated 
for snowmobile use;

	 •	 on county roads that have not been plowed during 
the snow season and are not maintained for use by 
regular two-wheel drive vehicles;

	 •	 on county roads designated by the board of supervi-
sors for snowmobile use;

	 •	 on highways during an emergency when the snow 
makes travel by regular two-wheel drive vehicles 
impossible;

	 •	 on the roadway or shoulder when necessary to cross 
a bridge or culvert, but you must stop before entering 
the roadway and must yield to all other traffic; and

	 •	 on primary highway rights-of-way at night as long 
as you stay on the right side and travel in the same 
direction as the traffic on that side of the road.

All-Terrain Vehicles
Iowa law limits highway access even more for ATVs than 

it does for snowmobiles. The only time you can drive your 
ATV on the highway is when you are driving it for agricultural 
purposes between sunrise and sunset. You must also have 
a valid driver’s license and drive at a speed of no more than 
35 mph. It is against the law to drive an ATV while carrying 
a passenger.

Registration and Licensing
All snowmobiles and ATVs must be properly registered 

with your county recorder.  All snowmobiles and ATVs must 
have a headlight and taillight that can be seen for 500 feet, 
and must display a fluorescent orange pennant or flag at 
least 60 inches above the ground.

Any person, regardless of age, may be prosecuted for vio-
lation of Iowa’s snowmobile and ATV laws and regulations.

If you are 18 years old or older, you do not need a snow-
mobile or ATV safety certificate if you have a valid driver’s 
license. If you are 12 to 17 years old, you must obtain a 
safety certificate. You can get a safety certificate by passing 
a safety course given by the Iowa Department of Natural 
Resources. You must also pay the registration fee. Contact 
the conservation officer in your county if you need additional 
information.

Trailers
Registration

Like your car, truck, motorcycle or moped, you must also 
register your trailers except bumper hitch farm trailers.

The registration fee is based on the size and/or class of 
your trailer. If you have a travel trailer or a fold-down camper, 
you pay 20 cents per square foot, using the outside dimen-
sions of your trailer.

If you have a utility trailer, you pay a flat fee of $10.
Motor home registration fees depend on the class of the 

vehicle. The class is determined by the value of the vehicle. 
Each class has a set registration fee.

For semitrailers, commercial fertilizer trailers and other 
commercial trailers, see page 64.

To register your trailer, fill out the proper forms and pay 
the fees at the county treasurer’s office.

Non-Resident Registration
If you are not an Iowa resident, your trailer must still have 

valid plates and registration papers from your home state if 
your home state requires registration for the type of trailer 
you are towing. You cannot legally tow your trailer in Iowa 
without them.

Trailer Towing
Driving with a trailer hitched behind you is much different 

than driving your car or truck alone. The extra weight makes 
it more difficult to control your vehicle, to stop, and to handle 
the trailer and the towing vehicle.

Offtrack The wheels of your trailer do not follow the same 
path as the wheels of the towing vehicle. Trailer wheels fol-
low a path closer to the inside of any curves. This is called 
“offtrack.” For any turn, you must allow extra turning space.

Speed The faster you go, the less control you have over 
your trailer. If you have trouble keeping the trailer in line be-
hind you, slow down.

Hitch Load A properly loaded trailer should have about 15 
percent of the total trailer weight on the hitch. If you have too 
much or too little weight on the hitch, the trailer will be more 
likely to sway back and forth while you are pulling it.
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Critical area
curb radius

Hitch Location The closer you can get the hitch to the 
rear axle of the towing vehicle, the better your trailer will ride. 
Try to keep the hitch up against the bumper. Do not put too 
much stress on the bumper without bracing it to the frame.

Tire Stiffness Stiffer tires make your trailer sway less. 
A well inflated six-or eight-ply tire is usually suggested for 
heavier trailers.

Trailer Size Use the smallest and lightest trailer that will 
carry your load. Your stopping distance will increase as the 
weight of your trailer increases.

Trailer offtrack makes turning and backing up difficult. 
Practice your turns to make up for your trailer’s load and 
offtrack.

Right Turns
As you come to the place you want to turn, slow down and 

signal. As you slow down, line up the vehicle and trailer further 
to the left than you would if you were only driving your car.

  

Left Turns
Left turns are usually easier because they are not as 

sharp, but you still need to pay close attention to what you 
are doing.

Backing
Backing a trailer is 

tricky. It is a good idea 
to think it through be-
fore you start moving. 
Remember, the trailer 
will move the oppo-
site direction from the 
back of your car. If 
you move the back of 
your car to the right, 
the trailer will go to 
the left.

I f  you want to 
back to the left, steer 
right. Then make any 
adjustments by pull-
ing slightly forward 
and repeating the 
move. Creep through 
the whole maneuver 
since backing a trailer 
is a difficult skill to 
master.

Usually it is easier 
to back up so the 
trailer moves to the 
left side of your car where you can see it better. Steer gradu-
ally in a series of slight turning and straightening actions. This 
will help prevent jackknifing the trailer.

Right Turn
1.	 Travel straight ahead, passing the 

corner.
2.	 Start turning right when your 

front wheels pass the curbline. 
The straight ahead distance you’ll 
travel depends on the sharpness of 
the curve, the length and following 
characteristics of your trailer or 
towed vehicle, and the width of the 
street.

3.	 Finish in the correct lane.

		

Critical area
curb radius

Left Turn
1.	 Keeping your vehicle straight, signal 

and creep into the intersection.
2.	 Watch for oncoming traffic and allow 

extra time to swing both your car and 
trailer around the curve. You’ll also 
need extra turning space to allow for 
trailer offtrack.

3.	 Finish in the correct lane.
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Backing a trailer is a tricky business. Proceed slowly with slight 
turning and straightening actions.

Passing
Your vehicle cannot accelerate quickly when pulling a 

trailer. If you must pass another vehicle, make sure you 
have plenty of room. Remember, you must pull your car and 
trailer far enough ahead to safely move back into the right 
lane. Avoid sudden swerves; they can send your trailer out 
of control.

Being Passed
Air from passing trucks will push your trailer to the right. 

Be ready for the trailer to pull to the right when being passed 
by another vehicle. Be ready to correct any swaying by steer-
ing in the direction of the sway. A quick burst of acceleration 
may help pull the trailer back in line. Never brake hard -- it 
may cause the trailer to jackknife or flip over.

Speed
Follow the same speed limits as for cars, unless posted 

otherwise. Remember to increase your following distance 
because you will not be able to stop as fast as you did with-
out the trailer.

Be careful going around large curves or down steep hills. 
The forces on your trailer can make handling dangerous. If 
you are going too fast, these forces can take command of 
your trailer and vehicle.

Projecting Loads

If you have a load that sticks out from the end of your trailer 
or vehicle four feet or more, it must be marked. Normally, dur-
ing the day a red flag should be tied on the end. When lights 
are required, a red light or lantern must be used to mark the 
end of the load.

Required Equipment
If your trailer and load weighs more than 3,000 pounds 

(1-1/2 tons), it must have brakes on all axles. They can be 
self-actuating if the combination is less than 10,001 pounds 
combined GVWR, or brakes you can apply from the towing 
vehicle. On certain combinations of over 10,001 pounds 
combined GVWR, self-actuating surge brakes are allowed 
depending on the GVWR of the towed unit.

Drawbar and Chain
When towing another vehicle or trailer, the drawbar must 

be connected to prevent side sway. Safety chains must also 
be used to connect the trailer to the towing vehicle. They must 
be strong enough to hold the load in case the hitch breaks.

Lamps and Lights
Clearance lights must be mounted on the widest part of 

the trailer. You can use white, yellow or amber reflectors in 
the front. The rear lights must be red. Taillights must also be 
used. A white light must illuminate the license plate.

Mirrors
When pulling a trailer you must still be able to see 200 feet 

behind your trailer. If the trailer or its load blocks your rearview 
mirror, you will need additional side mirrors to see behind the 
trailer. If your trailer is wider than the towing vehicle, you will 
need extended side-view mirrors to see to the rear.
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Trucks
To determine which class of license is necessary for you 

to operate a particular vehicle, please refer to the explanation 
of Iowa’s classification plan on page 8. If you decide you need 
a commercial license, you will need to study the Commercial 
Driver’s License Manual. The commercial manual will help you 
pass the written tests. The information in this manual will help 
you pass the knowledge test for a chauffeur’s license.

Class D (Chauffeur’s) License Requirements
You need a chauffeur’s license if you are:

	 •	 transporting 15 or fewer persons (including driver) 
for wages, compensation or hire;

	 •	 operating a farm truck-tractor or tractor-trailer within 
150 air miles of the farm and while transporting farm 
products to or from that farm; or

	 •	 operating a single vehicle with a gross vehicle weight 
rating (GVWR) specified by the manufacturer of 
16,001 to 26,000 pounds, except when the operation 
by the owner or operator is occasional and merely 
incidental to the owner’s or operator’s principal busi-
ness.

Persons exempt from Class “D” 
(Chauffeur’s) license requirements are:
	 •	 military personnel while on active duty and while 

operating military vehicles;
	 •	 a farmer or farmer’s hired help while operating a 

farm truck, other than a truck-tractor, controlled by 
the farmer and used to transport the farmer’s own 
products or property within 150 air miles of that 
farm;

	 •	 a person operating a farm tractor or implement of 
husbandry to or from the home farm to any adjacent 
or nearby land;

	 •	 a volunteer firefighter or volunteer ambulance driver 
while operating a fire, ambulance or rescue vehicle; 
or

	 •	 a Department of Corrections or a Department of 
Human Services employee transporting persons in 
an automobile.

A chauffeur’s license is required for farmers or their hired 
help who drive truck-tractors or truck-tractor semitrailer 
combinations on or for their farms. The requirement does not 
apply to farmers or their hired help who drive straight trucks 
only on or for their farm.

A chauffeur’s license costs $16 for two years and $40 
for five years. The license expires on your birthday. If you 
are 70 years old or older, your license will only be issued for 
two-year periods. Review chauffeur’s licensing procedures 
on page 8.

Age Requirements
You must be at least 18 years old to get a chauffeur’s 

license.
In most cases, you must be at least 21 years of age to 

drive across state lines (interstate), to carry hazardous ma-
terials in the state, or if any part of your company’s operation 
is involved in interstate transportation of goods. A farmer, 
operating a farm truck, may operate only 150 miles from the 
farm, regardless of whether the operation is totally intrastate 
or across state lines. To operate over 150 miles, a farmer 
needs a commercial driver’s license and must be over 21 
years of age if crossing state lines and outside 150 miles.

Registration
If you are an Iowa resident and your vehicles move intra-

state (within Iowa), register them with your county treasurer. 
All other registration questions should be directed to the 
Iowa Department of Transportation, Office of Motor Carrier 
Services, PO Box 10382, Des Moines, IA 50306-0382, phone 
515-237-3264.

To find out about commercial vehicle registration, authority, 
fuel permits, trip permits, and over dimensional or overweight 
permits, contact the Iowa Department of Transportation, 	
Office of Motor Carrier Services, PO Box 10382 Des Moines, 
IA 50306-0382, phone 515-237-3264. The hours are listed 
on the inside back cover.

Maximum Size and Weight
1. Weight

A single axle of a vehicle or combination of vehicles shall 
not exceed 20,000 pounds gross weight if equipped with 
pneumatic tires, and may not exceed 14,000 pounds gross 
weight if equipped with solid rubber tires.

Tandem axles may not exceed 34,000 pounds gross 
weight if equipped with pneumatic tires (tandem axles are 
any two or more consecutive axles with centers more than 
40 inches but not more than 96 inches apart).

2. Length
Single trucks are limited to an overall length of 40 feet. 

Single buses are limited to an overall length of 45 feet.
Power units designed to carry cargo when used in com-

bination with a trailer or semitrailer are limited to an overall 
length of 65 feet. However, when transporting automobiles, 
may have an additional three-foot overhang in the front and 
a four-foot overhang in the rear.

A combination of three vehicles, one of which is a mo-
tor vehicle other than a truck-tractor, is limited to an overall 
length of 70 feet.

Semitrailers, loaded or unloaded, may not have an overall 
length in excess of 53 feet.

Trailers or semitrailers operating in a double-bottom 
combination may not have an overall length in excess of 
28-1/2 feet each.

A combination of four vehicles is not allowed on the high
ways of this state, except for power units saddle-mounted 
on other power units. These combinations are restricted to 
a maximum overall length of 97 feet.

Stinger-steered auto transporters are limited to an overall 
length of 75 feet with an additional three-foot overhang on 
the front and four-foot overhang on the rear.
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3. Width
The total outside width of any vehicle or the load on the 

vehicle shall not exceed 8 1/2 feet. 
Width of these vehicles shall not exceed eight feet six 

inches, exclusive of safety equipment, and are exempt from 
the permit requirements for overdimensional loads as long 
as they or their load do not exceed eight feet six inches.

If an implement of husbandry is used to haul hay or straw 
and the total width of the load exceeds eight feet, the imple
ment of husbandry is not subject to the permit requirements 
for overdimensional loads. However, if the hay or straw is 
loaded on any other vehicle subject to registration, the moves 
would be subject to the permit requirements for transporting 
loads exceeding eight feet.

4. Height
The vehicle and load may not exceed 13 feet 6 inches 

high; 14 feet allowed for vehicles used exclusively for the 
transportation of vehicles.

Overdimensional Permits
Overdimensional permits can be obtained from the 

Iowa Department of Transportation, Office of Motor Carrier 
Services, 6310 SE Convenience Blvd., Ankeny, IA 50021, 
515-237-3264.

Safety
Commercial vehicle means a vehicle or combination of 

vehicles designed to transport passengers or property of any 
kind if any of the following apply:
	 •	 the vehicle or any combination of vehicles has a gross 

weight or combined gross weight of 10,001 or more 
pounds;

	 •	 the vehicle or any combination of vehicles has a gross 
weight rating or gross combination weight rating of 
10,001 or more pounds;

	 •	 the vehicle is designed to transport 16 or more per
sons, including the driver; or

	 •	 the vehicle is used in the transportation of hazard-
ous materials of a type or quantity requiring vehicle 
placarding.

As a driver, you may be required to follow all federal high-
way safety and hazardous materials regulations under United 
States Code, Title 49, and found in 49 CFR, chapters 100 
to 180 and chapters 390 to 399, as adopted by Iowa Code 
sections 321.449 and 321.450, when operating commercial 
vehicles as defined above.

If you are not certain if you fall under these guidelines, 
contact Motor Vehicle Enforcement at 800-925-6469 before 
you operate any vehicle in question.

Medical Proof
Iowa exempts drivers of commercial vehicles from pro-

viding proof of physical/medical qualifications who engage 
exclusively in intrastate (in Iowa) commerce when GVWR is 
26,000 pounds or less, unless you are hauling hazardous 
materials requiring placarding, or operating a passenger 
vehicle designed to carry 16 or more persons.  In most cases, 
if you operate a commercial motor vehicle with a GVWR of 
more than 26,000 pounds, you need a medical certificate 
and you need to log your hours. 

Special Equipment
In addition to standard equipment such as brakes, mir-

rors and tires, which are required on all motor vehicles, your 
vehicle may need some special equipment, especially if you 
are subject to federal regulations.

Fire Extinguishers
Every power unit must carry at least one 5 B.C. or two 

4 B.C. fire extinguishers. When transporting placarded 
quantities of hazardous materials, a 10 B.C. extinguisher is 
required.

Reflective Devices
Every commercial truck and truck-tractor must be equipped 

with reflective triangles rather than flags and reflectors.
If you have to stop during the night, you must warn other 

drivers. As soon as possible, place three reflectors around 
your truck. Put one at least 100 feet ahead of the truck, one 
at least 100 feet behind the truck and the third on the traffic 
side by the middle of the truck.

If you carry flammable liquids or explosives, you cannot 
carry open burning flares or fuses, whether you are loaded 
or empty.

Seat Belts (Required Use)
Except for motorcycles or motorized bicycles, 1966 

model year or newer motor vehicles registered in Iowa must 
be equipped with seat belts and safety harnesses of a type 
and installed in a manner approved by rules adopted by the 
department.

Battery Cover
Every storage battery on a truck, unless it is located in 

the engine compartment, must be covered by a fixed part 
of the motor vehicle or protected by a removable cover or 
enclosure.

Hazardous Material
Any vehicle, including private carriers, must display the 

correct placards and markings when carrying regulated 
classes and amounts of a hazardous material.
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Rear-End Protection
All trucks and trailers must have some type of rear-end 

protective device or bumper. It must be within 30 inches of 
the ground, not more than 24 inches from the rear, and within 
18 inches of each side of the vehicle. These devices shall 
be strongly constructed and firmly attached. Vehicles con-
structed and maintained so the body chassis or other parts 
of the vehicle affords the rear-end protection (including rear 
duals of a vehicle) comply with this requirement.

Spare Fuse
If the electrical circuits on your truck cannot be reset, you 

need one spare fuse for each kind and size.

Mirrors
All buses, trucks and truck-tractors must have two out-

side rearview mirrors, one at each side, unless the truck is 
constructed so you can see to the rear by using the interior 
rearview mirror. If you can use the inside rearview mirror, you 
only need an outside rearview mirror on the driver’s side of 
the vehicle.

Lighting
All trucks must have two white headlights, one at each 

side of the truck. All trucks must also have one reflector on 
each side at or near the rear, two reflectors on the rear, one 
at each side. Additional clearance lights and reflectors are 
needed, depending on the length or weight of your truck.

Color and Mounting
All lamps and reflectors mounted on the front of any truck 

or trailer, except school buses, must be white, yellow or amber. 
Rear-mounted lamps and reflectors must be red. Stop lights 
must be red. Mount clearance lamps on the widest part of 
the permanent part of your vehicle.

Trucks
80 inches or wider but 30 feet or less in length.
Front:	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side; three iden-

tification lights.
Side:	 one reflector -- at or near the rear.
Rear:	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side; two reflec-

tors -- one at each side; three identification lamps; 
rear lamps; signal stop lamp.

80 inches or wider and longer than 30 feet.
Front:	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side; three identi

fication lights.
Side:	 two side marker lamps on each side -- one at or near 

the front and one at or near the rear.
Rear:	 two reflectors -- one at each side; two clearance 

lamps -- one at each side; three identification lights; 
rear lamp; stop light.

Truck-Tractor or Road Tractor
All truck-tractors or road tractors must have these 

lights:
Front:	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side if the tractor 

cab is as wide or wider than the widest part of the 
towed object.

Side:	 one side marker lamp at or near the front on each 
side.

Rear:	 one tail lamp.

Trailer or Semitrailer
If the trailer or semitrailer you haul has a gross weight 
over 3,000 pounds, you must meet these lighting require-
ments:
Front:	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side -- if the trailer 

is at all wider than the cab that pulls it.
Side:	 one side marker lamp at or near the rear on each 

side; two reflectors -- one at or near the front and 
rear.

Rear:	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side; one tail 
lamp; one stop light; two reflectors -- one at each 
side.

Tractor/Trailer Combinations
These requirements apply to tractor/trailer combinations 
longer than 30 feet or wider than 80 inches and with a 
trailer gross weight greater than 3,000 pounds.
Front:	 cab wider than trailer:
	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side of the cab; 

three identification lights.
	 trailer wider than cab:
	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side at the widest 

point of the trailer; three identification lights.
Side:	 one side marker lamp on each side at or near the 

front; one side marker lamp on each side at or near 
the rear; two reflectors -- one at or near the front and 
one at or near the rear.

Rear:	 two clearance lamps -- one at each side; one stop 
light; one tail lamp; two reflectors -- one at each 
side.

Speed
Your driving speed depends on the speed limit, your ve-

hicle and load, road conditions and weather. Generally you 
should try to drive with the flow of traffic. Remember to stick 
to the posted limits. 

70 mph	 Rural interstate highways and some 
designated divided highways.

55 mph	 Controlled access, divided high-
ways and primary roads.

50 mph	 All other roads.
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Following
The driver of a 

motor truck or a mo-
tor vehicle drawing 
another vehicle must 
stay at least 300 feet 
behind other similar 
vehicles when traveling outside of business or residential 
districts. Larger vehicles need added space to come to a 
complete stop at highway speeds.

Maneuvering
Backing

You are responsible for your vehicle while backing up even 
if someone is guiding you. If you are driving a large truck or 
truck-tractor semitrailer rig, backing is difficult, so reduce 
backing as much as possible. Before you  back up, get out 
of your vehicle and get a good look at the area.

	

Back out of traffic instead of into it. That way, you will be 
able to see traffic when you enter the roadway.

Even though you have mirrors, there is a blind side on the 
right side of your truck. Use a guide if you must back to this 
side. If no guide is available:
   	 •	 get out and check out the area;
   	 •	 sound your horn; and
   	 •	 use both mirrors while backing slowly.

Periodically blow your horn to warn vehicles or pedestrians 
who may have entered your path.

Curves
To make it around a tight 

curve, keep the turning arc of 
the front wheels in line with the 
sharpness of the curve. When 
turning right, keep your front 
wheels close to the center line. 
This prevents the rear wheels 
from dropping off the pavement. 
Curving left, keep your front 
wheels close to the right edge 
to prevent the rear wheels from 
drifting into the other lane.

Avoid braking in a curve 
because this can cause you 
to skid out of control. Slow 
down before you get into the 
curve. Accelerate after you 
have passed the midpoint of 
the turn.

Left Turns
You must be sure you can complete your turn without your 

vehicle’s rear wheels striking other vehicles due to offtrack. If 
you need more than one lane, pull into the other lane carefully 
and continually check traffic in all directions.

Right	 Wrong

Right Turns
Try to stay in your own lane when making a right turn. 

Because of your trailer’s offtrack, that may not be possible. 
If your rear wheels run over the curb and sidewalks, you risk 
damage to your tires and create a danger for pedestrians.

Right angle turns are the biggest problem. Narrow streets 
mean you might have to pull well into the intersection before 
starting a turn. Be sure to check for smaller vehicles and 
pedestrians before you move.

Right	 Wrong




