Iowa driver's license or identification (ID) card name or address changes
Address changeResidential address
If you have moved and your residential address has changed since your license or identification card was issued, you can get a replacement license or non-operatorís identification card with your new address on it. To get a replacement card, go to any driverís license station or driverís license kiosk with your current driverís license or identification card. (Please note that you canít order a replacement license with a new residential address online at this time.) You donít have to bring any documentation for your new address, but we will electronically verify the address you provide. Thereís a ten dollar fee for a replacement license or identification card.
If your mailing address is different from your residential address and is the only thing that has changed, you can just let us know that your mailing address has changed, without getting a replacement license or non-operatorís identification card and without any fee. (Please note that Iowa law requires you tell us whenever your mailing address changes, within 30 days of the change.) You can do this online, or you can do this by mail by completing our Change of Address Notice and mailing it to:
Office of Driver Services
Iowa Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 9204
Des Moines, Iowa 50306-9204
Remember that neither one of these options will change the address that appears on your license or non-operatorís identification card and wonít result in a new card being issued to you; these options just let you change the mailing address we us to send you official notices. If you want a new card that has your new address on it, you need to follow the instructions for changing your residential address.
Information on address changes for Safe at Home program participants
Name changeChanging your name on an Iowa driver's license or ID must be done in person at any Iowa driver's license issuance site. There is a $10 charge. Applicants must provide proof of any name change.
Photocopies and faxes of documents will NOT be accepted.
A certified copy is one that contains the original seal and certificate of the court or registrar, rather than a simple file or date stamp.