You need to upgrade your Flash Player
Download the most recent Flash plugin here.

Track safety

Track inspection

Track inspectionThe first federal track safety standards were implemented in 1971, following the enactment of the Federal Railroad Safety Act of 1970 in which Congress granted to the FRA comprehensive authority over "all areas of railroad safety." A qualified railroad employee, in accordance with a schedule prescribed in these standards (49 CFR 213), must visually inspect all tracks in Iowa. The state of Iowa DOT's track inspectors, working with the Federal Railroad Administration, provide regulatory oversight of the railroad track safety effort to enhance railroad compliance with federal law.

The track inspector territories are roughly divided by a line that runs from Council Bluffs on the western border of Iowa northeast to U.S. 30, then to the Tama area, southeast to Columbus Junction, and then eastward to the Mississippi River. The inspectors occasionally work together and switch territories.

Track inspectors

Jeff J. Secora inspects the north portion of Iowa. Secora worked for the Milwaukee Railroad, Soo Line and Canadian Pacific Railroad for 16 years before joining the Iowa DOT in 1990.

Jeff can be reached at:
Jeff Secora
Iowa Department of Transportation
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, IA 50010

Tim Sandusky inspects the south portion of Iowa. Tim previously worked for the state of Nebraska as a track inspector for 20 years before joining the Iowa DOT in 2011.

Tim can be reached at:
Tim Sandusky
Iowa Department of Transportation
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, IA 50010

The State of Iowa is in Region 6 of the Federal Railroad Administration.  Region 6 covers Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska.

FRA's State Rail Safety Participation Program

Derailment statistics

2005 Iowa Rail Safety Report