GIS data downloads

aviation data

Aviation data

Data available in shapefile and KML formats.
Contains locations and information on airports, heliports and runways. Metadata is under construction.

Contact
Michael Marr
Phone: 515-239-1468
E-mail: Michael.Marr@dot.iowa.gov


Boundary data

Boundary data

Data available in shapefile and KML formats.
Contains county, state, city regional planning affiliations (RPA), MPO, urban area, Iowa DOT PLSS sections and transportation districts.

Boundary metadata HTML and FGDC compliant XML

Contact
Ryan Wyllie
Phone: 515-239-1560
E-mail: Ryan.Wyllie@dot.iowa.gov
Boundary data

GIMS - road centerlines, structures and rail crossings

Contains road centerlines, structures and rail crossing and business data.

GIMS metadata HTML and FGDC compliant XML

Contact
Michael Clement
Phone: 515-239-1826
E-mail: Michael.Clement@dot.iowa.gov
Boundary data

County highway and transportation maps in geo-referenced TIFF SPCS83 Iowa South and Iowa North in meters

Contains geo-referenced TIFF highway and transportation maps.

Contact
Mark Hansen
Phone: 239-1990
E-mail: Mark.Hansen@dot.iowa.gov
Boundary data

Rail (excluding crossings)

2002 Iowa rail lines. Crossings information is available at the above link.

Railroad metadata

Contact
Eric Abrams
Phone: 515-239-1723
E-mail: eric.abrams@dot.iowa.gov
Boundary data

Linear referencing system (LRS)

Reference posts.

Contact
Ryan Wyllie
Phone: 239-1560
E-mail: Ryan.Wyllie@dot.iowa.gov
Trails

Trails

Contains trails and business data. Metadata is under construction.

Contact
Milly Ortiz
Phone: 515-233-7733
E-mail: Milly.Ortiz@dot.iowa.gov.
Program management

Program management

Contains Iowa DOT five-year program data. Metadata is under construction.

Contact
Don Tebben
Phone: 515-239-1148
E-mail: Donald.Tebben@dot.iowa.gov