For full functionality of this site it is necessary to enable JavaScript. Here are the instructions how to enable JavaScript in your web browser.

Licensed Drivers / ID Holders

  • Renewal and changes
  • New driver’s license/ID
  • Under age 18
  • Lost or stolen Iowa driver’s license/ID
  • Suspended/Revoked driver’s license
  • Certified driving records and accident reports
  • Online services
  • Identity fraud
  • Military/Veteran services

Renewal and changes

Address change
You must notify the Iowa DOT within 30 days when your mailing address has changed.

Change my mailing address online
The law requires that you keep your most current mailing address on file with the Iowa DOT. Review or change your address.

Driver’s license/ID renewal
Your license expires on the expiration date printed on the license. The license is valid for driving for an additional 60 days after the expiration date.

How to get a “Veteran” designation on your driver’s license or ID
Honorably discharged veterans are eligible to have a “veteran” designation placed on their driver’s license (DL) or nonoperator identification (ID).

Iowa driver's license/ID issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

License types and fees
View a listing of classes, minimum ages, expiration dates, tests required and costs.

Name change
Changing your name on an Iowa driver's license or ID must be done in person at any Iowa driver's license issuance site. Applicants must provide proof of any name change.

Renew your driver’s license/ID online
Renew your driver's license or ID card from the comfort of your own home any time of the day or night. myMVD online services offers driver's license renewal, driving records and more. Am I eligible to renew online?

New driver’s license/ID

Graduated driver’s license (GDL)
The process begins with an instruction permit as early as age 14. The intermediate license is available at age 16, and the full license is available at age 17. Each of these licenses requires the written consent of a parent/guardian. The law does not apply to anyone who is age 18 or older.

Iowa driver's license/ID issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

Iowa Driver’s Manual
Available in a single PDF or in chapter PDFs. A search feature is provided.

Iowa Driver’s test apps
Test your knowledge of the rules of the road for the State of Iowa. These practice tests have been created by the Iowa DOT to provide new drivers with the foundation to safely meet their responsibilities on the road and to remind all drivers of safe driving habits.

License types and fees
View a chart listing class, minimum age, expiration date, tests required and costs.

Over age 18 - first time getting a license
Find requirements for new drivers, driver's with an out-of-state license, and more.

School license
To obtain a school license, you will need your instruction permit, your driver education completion certificate and you must complete an Affidavit for School License form. This form is also available at any driver's license station.

Under age 18 - Instruction permit
To obtain an Iowa identification (ID) card, you must provide the consent of a parent or legal guardian. A Parent's/Guardian's Written Consent Form must be filled out. This form is also available at any driver's license station.

What do I need for proof of identity?
Complete the step-by-step questionnaire to find out what documents you will need to get a driver's license or a duplicate license or ID.

You're the Coach! A Parent's Guide for New Drivers
This publication is a guide for parents and guardians of teenagers learning to drive.

Under age 18

Drivers under age 18
View information about the different types of licenses for drivers under age 18 including the steps for the graduated driver's license (GDL) system.

Identification card
To obtain an Iowa identification (ID) card, you must provide the consent of a parent or legal guardian. A Parent's/Guardian's Written Consent Form must be filled out. This form is also available at any driver's license station.

Iowa driver's license/ID issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

What do I need for proof of identity?
Complete the step-by-step questionnaire to find out what documents you will need to get a driver's license or a duplicate license or ID.

Iowa Driver’s Manual
Available in a single PDF or in chapter PDFs. A search feature is provided.

Iowa Driver’s test apps
Test your knowledge of the rules of the road for the State of Iowa. These practice tests have been created by the Iowa DOT to provide new drivers with the foundation to safely meet their responsibilities on the road and to remind all drivers of safe driving habits.

License types and fees
View a chart listing class, minimum age, expiration date, tests required and costs.

Private driver education schools
Contact information for private driver education schools in Iowa.

Driver’s education by a teaching parent
A new law passed by the 2013 Iowa Legislature will allow parents who home school their children to teach driver education in certain circumstances. Find out more about it.

Lost or stolen Iowa driver’s license/ID

Iowa driver's license/ID issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

Proof of identity documents
Complete the step-by-step questionnaire to find out what documents you will need to get a driver's license or a duplicate license or ID.

While in Iowa
If your Iowa driver's license has been lost or stolen, you may apply for a duplicate at any Iowa driver's license issuance site.

While out of state
If your Iowa driver's license has been lost or stolen and you are unable to apply for a duplicate because you are out of state, you may apply for a temporary driving permit (TDP).

Suspended/Revoked driver’s license

Appealing the loss of your driving privileges
If your privileges to operate and/or register motor vehicles in Iowa are being sanctioned (denied, canceled, suspended, revoked, disqualified or barred), you may be entitled to an appeal of this action.

Financial responsibility (SR-22)
Iowa's motor vehicle financial responsibility law.

Iowa’s Driver Improvement Program
Your driving privileges may be suspended for habitual violations, serious violations, and countable moving violations.

Iowa driver's license/ID issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

License reinstatement requirements
View your reinstatement requirements if suspended or revoked.

Operating while intoxicated
Iowa’s implied consent law means that any person who operates a motor vehicle in the state agrees to have a blood, breath and/or urine test performed to determine alcohol level or presence of drugs, whenever a peace officer has reasonable grounds to believe the person is operating under the influence.

Pay civil penalty(ies) required for reinstatement of my driver’s license
Review and pay any civil penalty(ies) required for reinstatement of your license.

Temporary restricted license
If you are a resident of Iowa and your Iowa driver's license has been revoked, suspended or barred, you may be eligible for a temporary restricted license (TRL) allowing you to drive for specific reasons and during specified times.

View my noncertified driving record
Obtain a noncertified copy of your driving record at no charge. This record contains your full name and driving record. It is for reference only and cannot be used for official or legal purposes.

Certified driving records and accident reports

Get a copy of an accident report
State law allows these reports to be given only to persons involved in the accident, their attorney, insurance companies or insurance agents. To obtain a copy of the report, send a written request with the date of the accident, time, location, and names and driver license numbers of the drivers involved.

Obtain a copy of an Iowa record, ticket, or other document
Purchase a certified copy of your driving record, ticket, or other document.

Report an accident
An accident occurring anywhere within the State of Iowa causing death, personal injury, or total property damage of $1,500 or more must be reported on an Iowa Accident Report form.

View my noncertified driving record
Obtain a noncertified copy of your driving record at no charge. This record contains your full name and driving record. It is for reference only and cannot be used for official or legal purposes.

Online services

Renew your driver’s license/ID
Renew your driver's license or ID card from the comfort of your own home any time of the day or night. Am I eligible to renew online?

Change my mailing address
The law requires that you keep your most current mailing address on file with the Iowa DOT. Review or change your address.

Purchase my certified driving record
Purchase a certified copy of your driving record. This record is your official driving record certified by the Iowa DOT and can be used for official or legal purposes.

Sign up to receive a driver’s license/ID renewal reminder
Sign up to receive an email reminder when it's time to renew your driver's license or identification card.

View my noncertified driving record
Obtain a noncertified copy of your driving record at no charge. This record contains your full name and driving record. It is for reference only and cannot be used for official or legal purposes.

Identity fraud

Identity theft
Identity theft crimes are on the rise, causing nationwide concern. The Iowa DOT's Office of Motor Vehicle Enforcement is taking an aggressive stand on identity theft relating to your driver's license, state issued ID card and motor vehicle title(s).

Identity theft complaint packet
Download this form when a theft related to an Iowa Driver License and/or Iowa Motor Vehicle Title has taken place.

Military/Veteran services

Veteran designation
By requesting a "veteran" designation on a driver’s license or ID card, a former military member can eliminate the need to carry official military papers for veteran identification purposes.

Military extension of an Iowa driver’s license
An extension of operating privileges may be given to military personnel who cannot return to Iowa to renew their driver's license in person and do not meet eligibility requirements to renew online. The extension is valid until six months following separation from active duty.

Vehicle Owners

  • Buying or selling a vehicle
  • Disabilities parking permits
  • License plates
  • Registrations and titles
  • Military/Veteran services

Buying or selling a vehicle

Bonded vehicles
If your vehicle cannot be titled or registered by your county treasurer because you do not have the proper title documents, you may be able to file a bond as a condition of obtaining a title and registration plates.

File a complaint
Complaint forms from the Office of Motor Vehicle Enforcement are used for false odometer statements, fraud, and more.

Properly dispose of a vehicle
If you are the owner of a motor vehicle in the State of Iowa and want to dispose of your vehicle to an individual, dealer or recycler, or to donate it to a nonprofit organization, follow these recommended steps.

Seller’s checklist and buyer’s acknowledgment
Includes procedures and helpful acknowledgment form to be used when vehicle is delivered to new owner.

Selling a vehicle in Iowa
Selling a vehicle can be simple. Before advertising the vehicle, make sure you understand state and federal requirements to avoid problems between you and the buyer.

Disabilities parking permits

Apply for a persons with disabilities parking permit
Apply for disability plates, removable windshield placards, and stickers.

Persons with disabilities plate and sticker
View eligibility and plate requirements.

License plates

License plate holders and frames
Iowa Code Section 321.37(3) states that "It is unlawful for the owner of a vehicle to place any frame around or over the registration plate which does not permit full view of all numerals and letters print on the registration plate."

Personalized and specialty plates
Download plate applications, see samples, and try the personalized text feature.

Registrations and titles

Bonded vehicles
If your vehicle cannot be titled or registered by your county treasurer because you do not have the proper title documents, you may be able to file a bond as a condition of obtaining a title and registration plates.

Register a vehicle
Iowa law requires you to register your motor vehicle with the county treasurer's office in your county within 30 days from the date you establish residency. Iowa registration is required even though your license plates may still be valid in another state.

Requesting a motor vehicle record
Search records by vehicle identification number, name, title number and license plate number.

Salvage vehicle inspection
Iowa law requires that all vehicles that are designated "salvage" or have a "salvage" title to be physically examined by a "peace officer" who has been certified by the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy to conduct examinations.

Vehicle registration - frequently asked questions

Vehicle registration locations by county
Register or and pay vehicle renewals online.

Military/Veteran services

Iowa military service license plates
Iowa offers several license plate options for our current and former military members.

Reduced registration fees for specially equipped vehicles
Persons with disabilities may be eligible for a reduced registration fee for specially equipped vehicles.

Commercial Drivers

  • Commercial driver’s license
  • Maps
  • Motor carrier forms
  • Motor carrier resources
  • Online services
  • Truck restrictions

Commercial driver’s license

Commercial Driver’s License Manual
There is a federal requirement that each state have minimum standards for the licensing of commercial drivers. This manual provides driver license testing information for drivers who wish to have a commercial driver license (CDL).

Commercial vehicle rules and regulations
View or download the Iowa Truck Information Guide.

Find Iowa driver’s license issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

Hazardous materials (Hazmat) background checks
No person applying for a first-time or new HME on or after Jan. 31, 2005, may be issued a HME until the background check is completed. Beginning May 31, 2005, the fingerprint-based background check will also apply to commercial drivers as they renew or transfer the HME.

License types and fees
View a listing of class, minimum age, expiration date, tests required and costs.

Medical certification requirements
Starting Jan. 30, 2012, the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) implemented new federal regulations requiring all CDL holders and applicants to certify the type of driving they do, and require interstate CDL holders that carry a Medical Examiner’s Certificate to give the Iowa DOT a copy of their Medical Examiner’s Certificate.

Military commercial driver’s license (CDL) waiver
If you have recent experience driving large trucks in the military, you may be eligible to obtain an Iowa CDL without taking the drive skills test that is normally required. To be eligible for the waiver, you must have legally operated the same type of commercial motor vehicle that you expect to operate as a civilian for at least two years immediately prior to applying for a CDL.

Maps

All system permit county and city route maps
State and interstate highways are valid routes except for restrictions listed on the bridge embargo, detour and road embargo, and vertical clearance maps. Check with local officials when traveling on county roads or city streets for bridge embargo, detour, road embargo and vertical clearance information.

Bridge embargo map

Iowa annual pavement restriction map

Map of enforcement scale locations in Iowa

Motor carrier forms

Motor carrier service forms
Find the commercial driver medical examination report, New Carrier Checklist and more.

Online services

Commercial driver's license self-certification and medical examiner’s certification
As a CDL holder, you must self-certify the type of driving you are engaged in. If required, you may also need to submit a copy of your Medical Examiner's Certificate.

International Fuel Tax Agreement and International Registration Plan
Access IFTA and IRP online processing.

Request and track oversize permits
Order permits online, determine if a permit is required, apply for a permit and more.

Truck restrictions

Truck restrictions — statewide
Access truck restrictions via 511ia.org. Sort by road or state region.

Motorcycle Riders

  • Motorcycle license
  • Motorcycle safety

Motorcycle license

Getting your motorcycle license in Iowa
To earn your license, you must pass a knowledge test and an on-cycle skill test. Knowledge test questions are based on information, practices, and ideas from this manual. They require that you know and understand road rules and safe riding practices.

Iowa motorcycle instruction permit
You may obtain a motorcycle instruction permit by passing the written knowledge examination and paying a fee for each year the license is valid, not to exceed 4 years, with no renewal permitted.

License types and fees
View a listing of class, minimum age, expiration date, tests required and costs.

Iowa driver’s license issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

Iowa Motorcycle Operator’s Manual
Operating a motorcycle safely in traffic requires special skills and knowledge. The Motorcycle Safety Foundation has made this manual available to help novice motorcyclists reduce their risk of having a crash.

Motorcycle safety

Moped instructors
A listing of moped instructors in the state of Iowa.

Motorcycle rider education
Iowa has a quality Motorcycle Rider Education (MRE) Program administered by the Iowa DOT's Office of Driver Services. Iowa's MRE Program teaches Basic Rider Course (BRC) and the Basic Rider Course II (BRC II) of the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF).

Motorcycle safety
Find safety news, rider education, statistics, and links to related organizations. Home of the Iowa DOT's Motorcycle Safety Forum.

New Drivers

  • Driver’s license/ID
  • Vehicle registration

Driver’s license/ID

Iowa driver’s license/ID
Find requirements for new drivers, driver's with an out-of-state license, and more.

Iowa driver’s license issuance sites
Locate the driver's license station nearest you. Create a driving map by entering your location and destination.

Iowa driver's license practice tests
Test your knowledge of the rules of the road for the State of Iowa. These practice tests have been created by the Iowa DOT to provide new drivers with the foundation to safely meet their responsibilities on the road and to remind all drivers of safe driving habits.

Iowa Driver's Manual
Available in a single PDF or in chapter PDFs. A search feature is provided.

License types and fees
View a listing of class, minimum age, expiration date, tests required and costs.

Proof of identity documents
Build a personal checklist of the documents you will need to satisfy Iowa’s identification requirements.

You're the Coach! A Parent's Guide for New Drivers
This publication is a guide for parents and guardians of teenagers learning to drive.

Vehicle registration

Personalized and specialty plates
Download plate applications, see samples, and try the personalized text feature.

Register a vehicle in Iowa
Iowa law requires you to register your motor vehicle with the county treasurer's office in your county within 30 days from the date you establish residency.

Vehicle registration locations by county
Register or pay vehicle renewals online.

Auto Dealers

  • Buying or selling a vehicle
  • Dealer license plates
  • Dealer services
  • Licensing

Buying or selling a vehicle

Bonded vehicles
If your vehicle cannot be titled or registered by your county treasurer because you do not have the proper title documents, you may be able to file a bond as a condition of obtaining a title and registration plates.

Proper disposal of a vehicle
If you are the owner of a motor vehicle in the State of Iowa and want to dispose of your vehicle to an individual, dealer or recycler, or to donate it to a nonprofit organization, follow these recommended steps and one of the two options listed.

Salvage vehicle
Iowa law requires that all vehicles that are designated "salvage" or have a "salvage" title to be physically examined by a "peace officer" who has been certified by the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy to conduct examinations.

Sell a vehicle in Iowa
Selling a vehicle can be simple. Before advertising the vehicle, make sure you understand state and federal requirements to avoid problems between you and the buyer.

Seller’s checklist and buyer’s acknowledgment
This section includes procedures and helpful acknowledgment form to be used when vehicle is delivered to new owner.

Dealer license plates

Duplicate dealer plates
To replace lost, damaged or stolen dealer plates throughout the year a duplicate Dealer Plate Order Form will need to be obtained from the Office of Vehicle Services.

Limited use dealer plates
Limited use plates Application for Special Plates form for display on vehicles solely for the purpose of disposing of vehicles acquired as a result of a damage settlement or recovered stolen vehicles acquired as a result of a loss settlement.

Special/Dealer plates
Explore the five types of plates issued by the Iowa DOT.

Licensing

Leasing license
A leasing license is required for persons engaging in business of leasing motor vehicles for use by others for compensation for a period of more than 60 days.

Motor vehicle dealer's license
A $50,000 surety bond must be filed with the Iowa DOT. This can be obtained through your insurance agent or an Iowa licensed bonding company.

Travel trailer dealer's license
Anyone engaged in the business of selling travel trailers is required to obtain a travel trailer dealer's license. If currently licensed as a motor vehicle dealer, a travel trailer dealer's license is still required.

Vehicle recycler's license
To obtain a vehicle recycler’s license, you must have a place of business where you maintain regular business hours and the public can contact you.
Iowa transportation background image