banner

Contact Information

Office of Design

Michael Kennerly

Office Director
michael.kennerly@dot.iowa.gov

515-239-1243

Ladana Sogard
Secretary
ladana.sogard@dot.iowa.gov 515-239-1783

Methods Section

Brian Smith

brian.smith@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1402
  • Develop design standards, details and policies
  • Design special roadway features
  • Geometric design for interchanges and intersections
  • Provide administrative support to office by preparing budget, ordering materials and supplies, monitoring project progress, etc.

Automation Coordination

Thomas Hamski
thomas.hamski@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1836
  • Provide user support for all design automation activities
  • Develop applications to automate design processes
  • Provide solutions for the integration of automation tools
  • Provide user training for automation tools and processes
  • Develop plans for future enhancements for automation systems

Roadside Development

Mark Masteller

mark.masteller@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1424

  • Design erosion control and seeding
  • Design landscapes for highways and other facilities
  • Design rest area and roadside park improvements
  • Administer landscape funding agreements
  • Administer Integrated Roadside Vegetation Management program

Design Support Staff

Kent Nicholson

Assistant Office Director
kent.nicholson@dot.iowa.gov

515-239-1586

Pre-Design/Field Exam

Kevin Patel
kevin.patel@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1540

 

  • Prepare project concept statements
  • Prepare cost estimates and alignment studies
  • Review and provide recommendations for new airport applications
  • Obtain traffic forecasts for design
  • Conduct field examinations of design projects
  • Prepare 3R/4R project concept statements
  • Analyze and process design exceptions

Pavement Design

Chris Brakke
chris.brakke@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1882
  • Prepare pavement determinations for new/ rehabilitated pavements
  • Prepare economic analysis to be used in project selections
  • Perform project-level pavement management functions
  • Perform network-level pavement management functions
  • Participate in pavement research activities

Photogrammetry

Alice Welch
alice.welch@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1041

Preliminary Survey

Norman Miller
norman.miller@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1209
  • Obtain survey information for design plan development
  • Administer aerial photography flight contract
  • Provide photographic materials for Iowa DOT offices for  various displays

Soils Design

Bob Stanley
robert.stanley@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1026
  • Conduct boring program to obtain samples, analyze, and provide recommendations
  • Coordinate testing with materials testing laboratory for geotechnical analysis
  • Prepare plans to provide boring and testing information to users
  • Select borrow areas for design projects
  • Design subgrade treatments, subdrain systems, foundation treatments, and slope stabilization

Project Development Staff

Deanna Maifield

Assistant Office director
deanna.maifield@dot.iowa.gov

515-239-1505

Kathy Larue
Secretary
kathy.larue@dot.iowa.gov 515-239-1305

Rural Design

Dave Skogerboe
Rural 1
dave.skogerboe@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1856

Yanxiao Jia
Rural 2
yanxiao.jia@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1985

Paul Flattery
Rural 3
paul.flattery@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1863

  • Design transportation improvements for the State of Iowa
  • Prepare construction plans to clearly convey design intent to contractors
  • Create electronic files and visualizations to convey design ideas to the public and contractors


Consultant Coordination

Randall Schlei
randall.schlei@dot.iowa.gov
515-239-1729

 

  • Procure consultant services contracts
  • Administer consultant services contracts
  • Organize and coordinate issues with the Iowa Council of Consulting Engineers