You need to upgrade your Flash Player
Download the most recent Flash plugin here.

Hiawatha Pioneer Trail

Special Route and Bridge DesignationsThis meandering route through Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin, and Illinois was designated in September 1963 at a four-state governors' conference in Amana. The trail in Iowa splits into north and south routes in Toledo before they rejoin in Davenport. Both branches were marked on state highway maps from the mid-1960s through 1975.

The north branch follows:

  • U.S. 71 from the Minnesota state line to Spencer

  • U.S. 18 from Spencer to near Whittemore

  • Iowa 15 and Iowa 3 from near Whittemore to Pocahontas

  • Iowa 4, Iowa 7 and business U.S. 169 from Pocahontas to Fort Dodge

  • Old U.S. 20 from Fort Dodge to Blairsburg

  • U.S. 69 from Blairsburg to Garner

  • U.S. 18 from Garner to Charles City

  • U.S. 218 from Charles City to Nashua

  • Iowa 346 and U.S. 63 from Nashua to New Hampton

  • Iowa 24 from New Hampton to Calmar

  • U.S. 52 from Calmar to Decorah

  • Winneshiek/Allamakee County Road A-52 from Decorah to Waukon

  • Iowa 9, Allamakee County Road X-16, Allamakee County Road B-38, and Iowa 51 from Waukon to Postville

  • U.S. 18/52 and Iowa 13 from Postville to Strawberry Point

  • Iowa 3 and U.S. 52 from Strawberry Point to Bellevue

  • Iowa 62 from Bellevue to Maquoketa

  • Iowa 64 and Jackson/Jones County Road E-28 from Maquoketa to Anamosa

  • U.S. 151 and business U.S. 151 from Anamosa to Cedar Rapids

  • 16th Avenue (old U.S. 30) and U.S. 30 from Cedar Rapids to Toledo

  • U.S. 63 and U.S. 6 from Toledo to South Amana

  • Iowa 220 and U.S. 151 through the Amana Colonies

  • U.S. 6 (including the former Iowa 927) from the Amana Colonies to the Illinois state line (there is a branch of the route following Cedar County Road X-30 into West Branch, and there may be other branches as well).