banner

Online resources for teens

Iowa law bans use of electronic devices while driving by teen drivers

It is easy to get distracted while driving. Sometimes the temptation to talk on the cell phone or text while driving can be too much to resist. In fact, recent studies state drivers under age 20 have the highest proportion of distracted drivers involved in fatal crashes. Other studies have shown that the risk of crashing while texting is 23 times higher than driving while drunk.


Here is an example of a teen driver attempting to text and drive using a controlled vehicle simulator situation. Just imagine what could have happened if this teen driver was traveling behind you.

To combat this serious problem, Iowa enacted a law that prohibits persons under age 18 holding a restricted driverís license (i.e., instruction permit, intermediate license, minor school license, license for teens not attending school) from using any electronic communication or electronic entertainment device (e.g., cell phone, iPod, Blackberry, computer, etc.) while driving.

The law is effective July 1, 2010. Following a one year educational period in which law enforcement officers will only be issuing a warning to violators, the consequences of being convicted for a violation of this law include:
  • A fine of at least $127.50.
  • A 30-day driverís license suspension.
  • The restarting of a driverís six- or 12-month violation-free driving period over, which is required to go to the next level of the graduated driverís licensing program.
Considering the consequences...It can Wait. Curb it-Click it.

Iowa law requires everyone under age 18 to be buckled up

Safety belts are the most effective means of saving lives and reducing serious injuries in traffic crashes. According to national statistics, 77 percent of passenger vehicle occupants who were in serious crashes and were buckled up survived the crash.

Iowaís current state average for seat belt use is 93 percent. But, it is lower amongst teens, which are already most at risk of being involved in a crash.

Effective July 1, 2010, all motor vehicle occupants under age 18 must be secured by a seat belt, safety harness or child restraint system.

There is no warning period. Law enforcement will immediately begin issuing citations to violators. The fine is at least $127.50.

You can buy a lot of fun stuff and clothes with $127.50. So Curb it-Click it.

Operation Lifesaverís Distraction PSA

Addressing growing national concerns about distracted driving, Operation Lifesaver Inc. is promoting awareness of rail safety for motorists with video public service announcements (PSAs) targeted to younger drivers. The 30-second spots illustrate how distraction leads to danger as multitasking drivers fail to notice that they are approaching highway-rail grade crossings. See the Operation Lifesaver's Web site for more information


Now is the time to make it official. Take the personal pledge
to wear your seat belt, and not text or talk on the phone while driving.