banner

Special investigations

The Iowa DOT's special investigations section is focused on field operations for specialized testing and analysis of state roadway systems for use in pavement management and the Office of Construction and Materials. Primary responsibilities include structural testing of roadways (falling weight deflectometer), pavement smoothness (inertial profiler), pavement surface friction (skid trailer), and pavement coring.


Special investigations staff


Jason Omundson, P.E.

Special investigations engineer
515-239-1357
jason.omundson@iowadot.us

Steve Boyens

Materials technician 3
515-239-1248
Steven.Boyens@iowadot.us

Rufus Brown

Materials technician 4
515-233-7882
Rufus.brown@iowadot.us

Roger Jones

Materials technician 3
515-239-1250
roger.jones@iowadot.us

Ron Stephens

Materials technician 4
515-239-1232
Rondel.Stephens@iowadot.us

Brent Terry

Materials technician 4
515-239-1309
Brent.Terry@iowadot.us

Ken Williams

Materials technician 3
515-239-1234
Kenneth.Williams@iowadot.us