banner

Special investigations

The Iowa DOT's special investigations section is focused on field operations for specialized testing and analysis of state roadway systems for use in pavement management and the Office of Construction and Materials. Primary responsibilities include structural testing of roadways (falling weight deflectometer), pavement smoothness (inertial profiler), pavement surface friction (skid trailer), and pavement coring.


Special investigations staff


Jason Omundson, P.E.

Special investigations engineer
515-239-1357
jason.omundson@dot.iowa.gov

Steve Boyens

Materials technician 3
515-239-1900
Steven.Boyens@dot.iowa.gov

Dan Judge

Materials technician 3
515-239-1900
Daniel.Judge@dot.iowa.gov

Steve McCauley

Materials technician 5
515-239-1387
Steven.Mccauley@dot.iowa.gov

Ron Stephens

Materials technician 4
515-239-1232
Rondel.Stephens@dot.iowa.gov

Brent Terry

Materials technician 4
515-239-1900
Brent.Terry@dot.iowa.gov

Ken Williams

Materials technician 3
515-239-1900
Kenneth.Williams@dot.iowa.gov